Lingua Mea Vita


From the Mouths of Babes

I will never forget back in my sophomore year of college when my art history proffy came up to me in his little brown elbow-padded jacket and asked me through his awkward, gap-toothed smile,

“What does PINK mean? I see all these girls walking around with the word “PINK” on their backsides.”

And then and there I had to explain what exactly the Victoria’s Secret PINK brand was to a forty-something man, when I didn’t even own any underwear from Victoria’s Secret at the time.

For a 19-year old co-ed, not owning anything from Victoria’s Secret was a rarity, especially when the VS PINK brand was targeted specifically at my age group. But the last few times I’ve wandered in or around a VS store, I’ve noticed more girls this age (like 10 or 11):

purchasing the above pictured sweatpants, perfume, and stuff like this:

Am I the only person extremely bothered by the fact that these girls are being sexualized ravaged before they get their periods?

Despite coating their PINK stores in clothing in child-attractive colors and glitter, Victoria’s Secret has removed responsibility: they have come out and said that the PINK brand isn’t targeted at the youngins. And actually, I think they’re right in doing so! Victoria’s Secret shouldn’t have to police the children that want to buy their product. However, I still fit in VS Pink’s target age group of 18-30, and there’s no way I would walk around with “Let’s Get A Room” or “I Get Around”  in glitter on my ass.

I mean, whatever happened to just the word “PINK” or the puppies (not that I bought any of those either, I prefer solid colors). What killed the mystery, Victoria’s Secret? You went from using one ambiguous, could-be-dirty-if-you-twisted-it-the-wrong-way word (…a PINK what, exactly?) to very blatant statements calling out someone’s a young woman’s promiscuity. “I Get Around?” Why not “Always Open”? Or “Slut” or “Whore”? Don’t sluts and whores “get around?”

And some questions come up:

  1. Can a girl wearing “Let’s Get A Room” underwear get upset if a man calls her a whore?
  2. How young is too young to be wearing hyper-sexed items of clothing (the dirty lines don’t stop at the underwear).
  3. Should hyper-sexed clothing exist in the first place? (I’m sorry, shouting “I’m sexy” from the rooftops does not make you sexy. It’s like the boy who is constantly talking about sex, but is a virgin?)

It’s amazing how a couple of words on a pair of underwear can strip you of your self-respect.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I totally agree it completely inappropriate!! I am actually a VS associate whom has worked there on and off for about three years. At first I was surprised at the wording put on the panties now I just expect to see something crazy and inappropriate. I watch young girls walk in day after and buy panties that say things like kiss more, can’t get enough, take a bite, hello three, I like it hot, what’s up, and come visit soon. There are even sleep shirt the say I only sleep in pink or nothing at all and your place or mine. I found out last week that they had to pull pains off the floor that said *@UK ME. That is really taking it to far. I can say that my daughter will not shop there without me until their in college. Some people I think that is crazy, but my girl will not be walking around with screw me on their behind!! I always parents that come in with their girls please read what you are buying. Do not let you baby girl be that girl or come across as that girl. http://www.victoriassecret.com/ss/Satellite?ProductID=1265455329407&c=Page&cid=1301487118405&pagename=vsdWrapper
http://www.victoriassecret.com/ss/Satellite?ProductID=1265455325524&c=Page&cid=1301487118405&pagename=vsdWrapper
http://www.victoriassecret.com/ss/Satellite?ProductID=1265455191886&c=Page&cid=1301487118405&pagename=vsdWrapper

Comment by Ladi

What’s crazy about those pictures is that the girls totally look age appropriate in how they are posed and styled, but the freaking shirts take any innocence from the picture!

There needs to be a better world out there for our girls—I’m not a mother, but I may be one day—and I don’t want my daughter thinking that she has to be sexy to get anywhere in life. And I especially don’t want her thinking that when she’s 10 years old.

Comment by linguameavita

[…] receiving a comment on my post on Victoria’s Secret underwear, I think I realize one of my goals in life is to make things better for the younger girls around […]

Pingback by A Feminist Graphic Genesis « Lingua Mea Vita




Leave a Reply

