Lingua Mea Vita


Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

Hey everybody! Today is National Read Across America Day!

And you’re probably thinking, “Who cares? I could be starting a revolution or liking some pickle on Facebook.”

But despite the cheesy 80s PSA name, National Read Across America Day is really important because it is none other than Dr. Seuss’s birthday. That’s right, Dr. Seuss, one of the most witty and inspirational writers of the 20th century was a moody, sentimental Pisces. 😛

Dr. Seuss is such a great writer because he had this knack for saying such profound things in a fun way that spoke to children, but didn’t lose any of their value. Adults love Dr. Seuss too! I mean, what other writer made you feel like you could trash your entire house and not get in trouble for it? Didn’t Dr. Seuss’ books instill confidence in you as a kid? Even as an adult?

So, I’m going to list off a few of my favorite Seuss quotes. Enjoy, be inspired, and please, for the love of your heart and mind…read:

“Today you are You. That is truer than true. There is no one alive more You-er than You.”

“Be who you are and say what you feel because the ones who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

“I have heard that there are troubles of more than one kind.
Some come from ahead, some come from behind.
But I’ve bought a big bat, I’m all ready you see.
Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me.”

“A person’s a person, no matter how small.”

“You have brains in your head. You have feet on your shoes.
You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.
You’re on your own. You know what you know.
You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”

“I mean what I said, and I said what I meant—an elephant’s faithful, 100 percent.”

“The more you read, the more you know. The more you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

