Lingua Mea Vita


Oscar 2011 Recap or Why the Academy Will Never Truly Understand The Social Network

This years Oscars ahem, “Oscar”, presentation was not that bad. I like that they took blatant jabs at their blatant attempt to bring in a younger audience as a blatant attempt to boost ratings (I mean, young audiences LOVE self-deprecating humor, especially when they can see it from a mile away). We have two hosts this year who happen to be extremely talented. (It doesn’t help that they were both extremely good looking). Anne Hathaway was charming and energetic and eager to host. James Franco? Not so much. His nerves during his pre-show interview were enough to give me an aneurysm.

But I like James Franco. I think it was great that he was nominated for 127 Hours. I love that you rarely see him without that giant alligator grin. And I love that he loves Oprah:

Oprah recently featured him in her magazine because on top of being a good actor, a slut for punishment Ph.D. student at Yale, and a generally happy person, he’s an author. I haven’t gotten around to Palo Alto, his series of short stories, but I will and blog about it here, because I want to know all of the things that they didn’t tell Harry (Spider-mannnnn). I also love that he likes House of Leaves, the trendy book of my circle of friends in high school.

But enough about James, let me get to the part of the Oscars that evoked such guttural shrieks  from me that likely scared the crap out of my neighbors.

The Social Network won Best Adapted Screenplay.

The Social Network lost Best Picture.

  1. Best Adapted Screenplay—I expected the Social Network to win Best Adapted Screenplay this year. Not only was the dialogue and flow of the movie out of this world, it was written by Aaron Sorkin, Movie Great (whom I mentioned in a previous entry). No other movie deserved it as much. End O’Story.
  2. Best Picture—For this to be the new, “young, hip Oscars” that Anne Hathaway and James Franco often mentioned, The Social Network would have to win. Not only was it a thoughtful examination of the human condition (that aching need to belong), the examination was of an issue that I think that is specifically poignant to Gen-Y. Gen-Y aren’t babies anymore, and with the rise of social networking, everyone (not just Mark Zuckerberg) is feeling this incredible need to belong, to be accepted, and make sure that their voice is heard. This isn’t exactly true of previous generations. The Social Network points this out in such a moving way, and a way that no one else has touched, and I feel a way that no one else will touch for a very long time. But instead of giving the Best Picture Oscar of the “New, Young, Hip Oscars” they give to the inspirational movie that you still have the blow the dust off of (The King’s Speech). It may be that the members of the Academy are simply too old to understand how powerful The Social Network is, and honestly, that’s okay. I will just have to wait for the Academy to evolve at the speed of its presentation.

I do realize I have probably butchered any chance I have at ever winning an Oscar for criticizing their choice, but I can live with it. 😛 I just felt really strongly about it, and had to let it go somehow. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

